Complete newbie wanting to convert from Windows to Linux

The last time I attempted a Linux install was nearly a decade ago using what is now Legacy BIOS. Worked like a charm back then.

My current system uses UEFI which I believe to be a problem because when I try to install EndeavourOS from a live USB I can see what is my D: drive in Windows just fine when I run the partition manager. What I so not see is what is my C: drive, my boot drive in Windows.

What I’d like to do is install Endeavour on what is my C: drive, which I believe would be sda0 in Linux? As you can see in the provided screenshot all that is visible to the partition manager is sda1, which is my larger drive on this computer. I should also have a 500 GB partition visible. The Cruzer Glide

is my live boot partition.

Still new at all this but I have old experience with DOS of all things. I’d ask that if you require certain commands to be run that you explain the why? I find I have to build a working knowledge of processes in Linyx, and that would help immensely.

Thank you.

An easy-to-follow guide:

However, it is possible that you’ve made a mistake because when installing Windows in the past (Windows 10), it always created three partitions for me. The fact that you only have two may mean that your Windows installation can’t boot anymore.

This is just speculation, as I’ve never installed Windows 11.

Try shutting down, removing your EndeavourOS live media, then try to boot into Windows. If you boot successfully, then you can follow the guide in the video.

Also, to be safe, you can put EndeavourOS on a totally separate HDD or SSD, rather than a separate partition.

1 Like

There is no sda0

sda is the drive itself, and sda1 = partition 1, sda2 = partition 2,etc.

In the screenshot it seems there is only one hdd/ssd and your usb drive attached to your pc.

Can you post the result of the following command executed in a terminal:

lsblk -f