Can someone test nvidia-340xx-dkms?

can someone test this package for me ?
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/nvidia-340xx-dkms
i’ve been using mesa for a few months now and didn’t have any issue with it, i get compositing and no screentearing at all, but now i would like to get the nvidia drivers installed, can someone test it for me ?
Thanks

I have an older laptop that is running that driver. It seems to work well despite being officially unsupported. A couple of minor advisories, however…

1. Be sure to follow the instructions about adding the X config file to ignore API version.
  2. It usually takes a day or so for the patches to catch up when the kernel major version changes (e.g., 5.16.x to 5.17.x), so hold off on upgrades and try upgrading the package before upgrading the kernel.
  3. I’d keep to a DE like XFCE and avoid Gnome. Gnome’s compositor makes some assumptions about the GPU’s ability to remember its state before suspend which a driver this old does not do. Don’t get me wrong, the nvidia-340xx driver will composite, just don’t ask overly much from it.

Personally, I’d say to go for it; everything should be just fine.

2 Likes

I’m lost here, i have no ideia where to find this X config file.
Can you give me clear instructions on how to do this ? i am a bit of a noob here, and do you think the driver is going to break my system and boot if i try to install it using yay with no additional tweaks ?
Btw i use plasma desktop
I know how to chroot or access the terminal at boot in case something goes wrong and i need to unistall the package, but i would like to avoid this

What is your hardware?

inxi -Faz | eos-sendlog
1 Like

https://clbin.com/UYChd

I just wanted to make sure the drivers are supported and yes good to go. You shouldn’t have a problem.

You can run a test first after installing the package nvidia-installer-dkms.

nvidia-installer-dkms -t 

Edit: Actually there is a new version of the installer.

nvidia-inst