Btrfs-assistant fails to start

Hello all. I’m pretty new to linux but i’ve been enjoying learning my way around. I recently wanted to try sway just to see what tiling WM are all about and it’s been working pretty well for me. My issue is whenever I try to launch btrfs-assistant I get the following output:

Authorization required, but no authorization protocol specified

qt.qpa.xcb: could not connect to display :1
qt.qpa.plugin: Could not load the Qt platform plugin "xcb" in "" even though it was found.
This application failed to start because no Qt platform plugin could be initialized. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.

Available platform plugins are: eglfs, linuxfb, minimal, minimalegl, offscreen, vnc, wayland-egl, wayland, wayland-xcomposite-egl, wayland-xcomposite-glx, xcb.

/usr/bin/btrfs-assistant: line 42: 17224 Aborted                 (core dumped) btrfs-assistant-bin ${params}

I have tried reinstalling the package but i get the same error. Can anyone point me in the right direction?
Thanx

1 Like

…points to admin-rights. Try using sudo prepended to the startup command.

This one fixed this issue for me

sudo pacman -S qt5-wayland

2 Likes

You should not do this. This is not the proper way to launch btrfs-assistant.

Also, running sudo when you see the word authorization is a terrible practice.

1 Like

Darn… besides pointing out my “usual” advice on “terrible practices” @dalto, could you please be so kind (now and in the future) to point out what is right, instead? - Thank you from a poor penguin, just uttering “nonsense” in your eyes, not using any “butter-fs” themselves!? - Thank you again. :wink:

:v:

1 Like

You need to research the actual issue. In this case “no authorization protocol specified” doesn’t mean “run it with sudo”.

There is no universal cause to the problem. I suspect the solution that @Brtza proposed will solve the issue. If not, we can keep working from there.