Blizzard titles seem to just freeze

I have collected this information over quite a while, and the last missing bits I have only acquired recently.

As I said in the title, I play Blizzard titles, specifically Hearthstone and World of Warcraft Classic. Both are started through the Battle.net launcher, a proprietary launcher for all Blizzard games.

From time to time, I found Hearthstone to just stop. No reaction anymore, no possibility to interact with the window. I can kill it (Ctrl+Alt+Esc and click on the window), and I can stop the wine prefix using Lutris (if started through Lutris).

After Hearthstone, I started playing World of Warcraft Classic, and this as well showed these stops very infrequently (sometimes once a day). Today I have checked if there are any log messages exactly when the stop occurs, and I can say with certainty that there are none. I have enabled logging from the Lutris entry that starts Hearthstone and World of Warcraft, and there are no messages when the stop happens. Today I’ve seen it clearly, the last messages being almost half an hour old.

Today as well I had one of those stops directly inside the Battle.net launcher. There was a video message linked in the launcher, something like “How to survive Northrend” which embedded a Youtube video. I clicked on it and watched it from the launcher, and lo and behold, the stop occured during the video.

Last week I have also tried Bottles for the first time. Lutris was so far my go-to tool for wine prefix management, and I’m supporting the project, but after seeing a video about bottles and what it does differently, I wanted to give it a try, maybe it would fix the issues I had. I can report that the Bottles wine prefix had the exact same problem, I have seen the stop in there as well.

What I tried so far:

• Re-Installation in a new wine prefix
  • Switch to Bottles
  • Re-Check that all requirements documented here are present