Bitwarden moved from the AUR to Community Repos Question

Greetings lovely community,

I made a post regarding a Bitwarden AUR build question I had barely two weeks ago (seen here) and today I wake up to check for some updates and I see there’s a new Bitwarden update! Only difference is it’s not from the AUR, it’s from the Arch Community repos! Imagine my surprise to see a package make it’s way from the AUR into the official Arch repos. Very happy to see this indeed, I think Bitwarden is a great password manager for my uses.

Having said that, I do have some thoughts. Since I installed it first from the AUR, but now it’s in the Community repos, is there anything special I need to do? Like should I uninstall it first and then reinstall the Community version or is there anything special that I might have to do when a package goes from the AUR to the official repos? Perhaps I am over thinking it, but I just wanted to ask you all here since this is my first time experiencing this. I don’t know if there’s a site or a list somewhere that shows recent packages moving from the AUR to other Arch repos, but please feel free to explain anything regarding this process that I may need to know, I’d find it very valuable information.

Bitwarden is in the Community repos now! Pinging the all wise and knowing @dalto for any input since I know you use Bitwarden as well :wink:
Screenshot from 2021-09-04 12-10-11

1 Like

No. You just magically start getting updates from the repos. :partying_face:

pacman actually has not idea what the source of a package is. All it knows is that the package named bitwarden is currently in the repos.

3 Likes

I wonder if now that it’s in the Community repos would you consider installing it or sticking with the appimage version that you’ve been using? Thanks for your super quick response btw :stuck_out_tongue: