Best Configuration SSD and HDD, BTRFS

Just. a simple advice.
I found a little bit old laptop that has 500MB HDD.
I am thinking to add an SSD for the system at least. I do not know yet if I can keep the HDD along with the SSD.

If it can be done, what would be the best configuration BTRFS.

Sorry if this sounds a silly question but I am totally new to BTRFS.
I read something (but I am not sure if I got it right), 2 BTRFS disks can be somehow “merged” to be as one disk.
If so, can it be with SSD and HDD?

BTRFS supports multiple devices and different RAID modes so this should be possible. I don’t know much details and how to boot such a system, as I stick to a single disk.

https://btrfs.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/Using_Btrfs_with_Multiple_Devices

I’m not sure if you are referring to a raid set up but if so it is best to use identical discs. So two ssd same size would be the way. I don’t think you want to use an SSD and a Hard drive. Doesn’t matter whether it’s btrfs or not. If the setup is a Raid set up this is normally how it’s done and again depending on the type of Raid system one is trying to implement for what purpose.

In theory you can have both an HDD and an SSD. In practice, and I found this out myself on a Dell Inspiron 5558, unless you resort to an additional external device and use one of the external ports (USB in most cases), you are unlikely to be able to have both devices; WITH an external device, the answer is yes as long as you have at least one port you can use for the device and it supports the protocol available.

An OLD device might have some other forms of serial ports in addition or instead of USB.

Not a RAID setup. What I understood was something like 300GB disk + 500GB disk gives one 800GB disk (not 300GB as in RAID)

I read somewhere somebody removed the DVD drive and put an extra disk in its place using some sort of casing.

Something I never heard or thought of.

Yes that is possible, but HDD ist pretty slow in uptime.