Argon 1 and Argon Neo Rpi 4 Case Thermals

I recently purchased two cases for my Raspberry Pi 4 from the company Argon 40. I purchased their more traditional layout case with the Argon Neo, link, and a case that has a fan and a power button with the Argon 1, link. Here is a picture of the two side by side.

case1

I was asked if it would be possible to give some data on their thermal performance. After doing some testing, I have to say that they are pretty good. Since I had 2 different microSD card’s with different distros, EnOS and Ubuntu Server, I decided to run the tests on both. I am not a professional and these tests are by no means exhaustive. I hope it gives one a general idea on how these cases help the Raspberry Pi 4 handle thermals.

Here are the neofetch results for both systems.

inxiargon

Tests Run

I did not do a large amount of testing, but I tried to make the tests I did run match with what I thought would be “normal use”. The tests are listed in the order performed.

1. From a cold boot, I let the Pi4 sit at idle for 10 minutes. Then took the temperature of the CPU.

2. Played a 1080p video file on loop in VLC. The video was encoded with the H265 codec. I took the CPU temperature after 5 minutes of playback and then at 10 minutes of playback.

3. I then played a video on YouTube using Firefox in full screen. I had the video set to repeat and took the CPU temperature at 5 and 10 minutes.

4. Installed a program from GitHub on both distros. I took the CPU temperature in the middle of the install process.

Checking the CPU temperature

I found a nice script located here, link, that allowed my to type temp into the terminal and have the CPU temperature returned.

Argon Neo

The Argon Neo uses passive cooling and has a removable cover that is over the GPIO pins. I ran the tests with it removed and with the cover installed. The ambient temperature was 27°C.

EnOS

Test 1 - Cover Off - 46.2°C ---------- Cover On - 48.3°C