Are we there yet?

Hi! I’m Psi-Jack! Been using Linux for… Just over 30 years now, and I’m going to continue to do so. I’ve used other operating systems… Windows up to NT 4.0 in a serious manner, but up to about 7 in occasional piddling. I use macOS on a regular basis for personal and business use, as it’s generally my choice when the company offers me a company laptop, to go with a MacBook Pro because it interoperates very well with pretty much anything “business” related and isn’t Windows. I’ve also used other operating systems, AIX, Irix, Solaris, SunOS, OS/2. etc etc etc…

So, yeah, been around a bit. I program, though I am not a software engineer, just a hobby/casual programmer, in various languages including Python, Rust, Pony, C++, PHP, and bash/zsh scripting. I’ve done other languages including Perl, Pascal, Dynamic C, and some lisp only for what’s needed, and similarly lua. Ancient history languages I’ve worked with have been COBOL, Fortran, RPG, and BASIC (c64 and cisc).

So, all in all, a very… diverse background and jack of all trades of knowledge set… I’ve literally forgotten more Linux than most people will likely ever know in their lifetimes, because of how long I’ve been using it extensively and primarily.

Since I finally started really focusing my attention on EndeavourOS, I’m really liking the simplicity of it’s design, and not overstepping things. Providing a good starting point, a nice installer, and that user_commands.bash script you can use to customise EndeavourOS is amazing and has refreshed my thoughts on EndeavourOS because I can literally design a “golden install”, so to speak.

3 Likes

three decades is a crap-ton of linux knowledge. as it evolved some concepts were meant to be thrown out and some etched forever.
I found myself here too recently but a whole other route. Debian/Rhel were never my things and Arch seems comfortable.
Nice to meet you.