Advice on moving from Debian-based to EndeavourOS?

Hi, hope it’s ok to post this kind of question.

I’ve been using debian-based distros for around 2-3 years (Mint, then MX Linux). I also run a simple homeserver using headless debian. I still consider myself a newbie, though ok using terminal. (One challenge is I keep forgetting commands).

I use MX Linux as a daily driver and it works fine. Though, the pain of doing major reinstalls every couple of years puts me off in the long run. I’ve always been attracted to rolling releases but scared off that they will break too often. I don’t mind putting some effort in, but rather have a system that is reliable and consistently works.

So my question is, will it require a lot more effort to use EndeavourOS as a daily driver (compared to something like MX Linux)? Would I end up worrying about it breaking more often? Or is that caused by say using software from AUR? I’m a total noob when it comes to Arch.

I’m thinking I first install endearvouros as a vm and play around with it. But if there’s any advice about making the transition to endearvour, that would be much appreciated.

Thanks

First, welcome to the forum!

It requires more effort but not a lot more.

It depends what you mean by “breaking”. Everyone has a different definition here.

If you mean “the system becoming unbootable”, this is not common. Especially if you don’t use the proprietary nvidia drivers.

If you mean, “some portion of some application no longer working as expected” then this is fairly common for a variety of reasons.

• Arch-based distros get packages much sooner than most other distros. Than means Arch users are often the ones to find the bugs
  • Since Arch is rolling, core libraries can change and sometimes applications aren’t keeping up with the latest libraries
  • If you use AUR packages, you may need to rebuild them yourself when libraries change

Here is my advice:

• Expect a bit of a learning curve as you transition