A question about workflow

Hello, everyone. I have a doubt, which is not a technical issue, mostly just a curiosity, so I believe this is the right place.

In the Linux community I hear a lot about “workflow”, and how tilling WM are the obvious productivity choice. While I can see their utility for some stuff I do, I couldn’t find any easy solution for quick file access. You see, I am a teacher and a student at the same time, so most of my work revolves around quick searching and opening pdf files, which are either books (shameless user of Library Genesis, don’t bully me), pre-prints and student assignments (or my own assignments) which I have to consult back and forth, so Krunner on KDE, or even Dolphin’s file indexing is something that just makes my life much easier than a constant browse among several folders just to get the file I want. However, seeing how file indexing is so frowned upon (I have a decently powerful computer, so I don’t mind the big baloo file and indexing doesn’t affect my performance much, besides, I can chose which folders to index on KDE), I wonder how people do quick search through files in a more “advanced” way, if something even exists.

So my doubt is, for other people who work with similar things, how is your “workflow”?

2 Likes

First of all, welcome to the community! :partying_face:

Next, I would point out that there is no “best” choice for productivity. We talk about workflow because we all have a different workflow. One of the things that makes Linux great is the fact that we can choose whatever method best suits our personal workflow.

I am not sure why an index would be “frowned upon”. Especially if you are doing things like indexing rasterized PDFs which require OCR to read them.

That being said, there are ways to search normal documents fairly efficiently without an index. Although it will never be as fast on a large library as content that has been pre-indexed.