Yet another Hello

Hi! I’ve been using EOS for about a week now and I really want to thank all the wonderful community behind it.
I’m a learning newbie, coming from Manjaro (before that I was just taking my first baby steps with Linux Mint). I was quite comfortable using it, but was curious about what other distributions have to offer. I had never tried anything as clean as this one, it even felt a bit weird having no bloat (especially in the comparison to Manjaro and Mint). I normally don’t need much in my daily usage and most of the packages I needed I already knew where to find, but having been used to pamac it’s a bit tough to discover new stuff. I often used pamac’s GUI when I wasn’t sure what exactly I need while being on Manjaro and pamac in the terminal (‘pamac search’/‘pamac search -a’) when I knew at least partially the name of the package. I know how to use pacman and I’ve been using it before to do updates (having heard a couple of times that pamac sometimes breaks stuff, not sure whether it’s true or not though). But yay was an absolutely new thing for me and a quite pleasant one, since I was a bit worried as to how I am going to deal with AUR (I can compile packages manually, but find it to be a bit messy way of managing them, before I was using pamac for that as well). So, I am getting used to things little by little, I’d only wish both pacman and yay were using a bit more intuitive syntax :confused:
Sorry if my rambling got too long, I actually just wanted to say hello and thank you for the great distro :smiley:

2 Likes

Hello @Tasia91,
First and foremost…
welcome
I wouldn’t go as far as saying pamac breaks things but sometimes updating from within a GUI can get tricky. When updating I almost always use the following method.