Why do I force myself to dual boot?!

2hours so far and 3 is meant to a reasonable wait! 20201026_143107

2 Likes

Good question, what reason do you have?
Maybe we can help you solve it and run on Linux with native or through Wine :slight_smile:

3 Likes

People are known to do crazy things for no reason. :wink:

But seriously, I kept Windows on a machine because of BIOS updates. But now that there are no more BIOS updates for that machine anymore, I can ditch Windows. :smile:

2 Likes

I don’t really know, I guess. I’m still a student so that’s the main reason, just in case something doesn’t work, I’ve always got windows. (Thought that doesn’t sound as reassuring now).

2 Likes

Windows can be installed later if you ever happen to need it…

2 Likes

Yep, not reassuring at all…It’s also kinda dangerous now.
Well for backup you can just run VM in VirtualBox or something like that

I’d personally do EndeavourOS only boot, skip all the problems and keep them in VM just in case :wink:
Preferably Win 7 or XP VM

3 Likes

I’d do it if my laptop was powerful enough to run Windows on a VM. Unfortunately windows can’t run on 2gb with all the stuff I use without making me angry

2 Likes

How much RAM do you have? Can you install more RAM?

1 Like

Unfortunately no. I have 4gb (3.78gb actually) so if i share it it’ll be 1.5gb per either os and that doesn’t go well.

1 Like

Yeah that’s pretty low… :expressionless:
Unless you can add it’s not gonna be easy ride

2 Likes

Sounds like dual boot is your only possibility, provided you really need Windows.

3 Likes

I tell myself that everytime. I boot into it only to update. But until my uni decides to officially support Linux I guess I’ll have it installed. It’s saved me occasionally, before when teams wasn’t available for Linux but no it has no reason expect taking up hard-drive space.

Maybe one day…

1 Like

So you just want to torture yourself with Windows? :rofl:

3 Likes

Pretty much, that’s called BDSM :laughing: