To Pamac or Not to Pamac.....that is the question

As you all know, The EOS project purposely does not include Pamac, and I think encourages the use of pacman or yay directly in terminal. Even though Pamac is easily available from the AUR, I have not installed it and am perfectly happy just using pacman (or yay) to install the software that I want. I guess that’s because I already know what software I want, and don’t browse very much now. I can see a benefit to using Pamac, Octopi, or some other type of catalog/menu type system if I’m new to opensource and searching for a type of software, but don’t know the name. After reading a recent distrowatch reader supplied review that complained about his/her inability to install new software in EOS (apparently didn’t read the wiki or struggled using pacman), it caused me to wonder how many out there in Endeavour-Land use Pamac or not, and why.

2 Likes

I usually have it installed to browse for stuff but search the aur and/or package page directly more often than I open it anyway.
I like the idea but I don’t like the loss of info/control. I like seeing what is being done and the infor/error messages. Easy to spot and copy etc.

1 Like

I use pamac extensively to browse installed packages or search for new software. I also use it for system updates notifications. I find it is a neat tool that makes my life easier. When I’m not very sure what I’m looking for, pamac usually helps big time. Sure I use the console now and then for various operations especially for what I know to be more complex builds (like android studio or phpstorm) so I can debug the process in case something would go wrong. I sometimes use pamac to do updates, if the list of available updates seems not to be problematic. It’s fast and I get minimal workflow interruption this way.