TigerVNC with Plasma Stopped Working After Update

Would appreciate help with a frustration I’m experiencing. I’m relatively new to Endeavour but generally use Linux as my development environment. I’m using a vanilla install with Plasma and use TigerVNC to remote into the box. The drawbacks were that the screen ‘mirrored’ the remote session, which is not ideal, but since it’s in my home office, was tolerable. After a recent update, I was greeted by the infamous ‘black screen’ attempted a remote session. Yes, if I log out, the remote session show the logon screen but freezes after logging in while the remote session maintains control of the desktop, indicating shared desktops are no longer a ‘thing’. In theory, one should be able to spawn many desktops for many remote sessions limited only by system capacity. But I have completely failed to find examples of a workable configuration on Endeavour or any other Arch-based distro for TigerVNC to accomplish this. I’m not married to TigerVNC - it’s just the devil I know (or thought I knew).

Hoping someone in the EndeavourVerse can share a working config for TigerVNC with Plasma. I would be most grateful.

1 Like

With Plasma 6, the default session changed to Wayland. Be sure to change it back to X11 on the login screen because I don’t think TigerVNC can do Wayland.

Edit: sorry, I think I actually misunderstood your issue because I did not read it carefully the first time.

I’m not sure I follow this part:

Can you explain what you mean by that? I can’t tell if you are reaching the remote desktop or not.

I spotted this, off work soon and was going to try it as a holiday project:

https://planet.kde.org/arjen-hiemstra-2023-08-08-remote-desktop-using-the-rdp-protocol-for-plasma-wayland/