The OS regularly fails to boot

Hi, I have an issue that the OS regularly fails to boot. It gets past GRUB and sometimes (50%?) the login-screen doesnt appear. In that case I have to turn the computer off and start it up again until it finally launches. Could you please help me with this issue? I am actually a newbie. My laptop is Asus X555u.

I have tried various kernels (zen, lts). Those seem to fail to boot in higher percentage. I have also tried “journalctl -b” but I am actually not sure about what is the output nor whether it contains information about the previous “failed boot”. However, the output seems to contain multiple “red” lines including firmware or acpi bugs and a xorg dump (I use Wayland though). How do I filter the relevant issues? Thanks.

@Wulfie

Logs for troubleshooting can be accessed from the Welcome screen also. You may want to look at dmesg also for errors.

Okay, I tried to get the logs from the welcome app. I hope they will be useful.

Hardware info:

Current boot (the successful one):

Previous boot (a failed one):

In further debugging attempts I reinstalled endeavour anew, this time using i3 and installing bumblebee (Optimus graphics). The boot sucess is still random. Do you have any clue on how to fix this issue?

Hello @Wulfie
I see you have a hybrid type graphics. It doesn’t look like you installed the nvidia graphics when you installed EndeavourOS. Looks like your card is supported by the current drivers. I can tell you that i3 is going to be somewhat more difficult. So I’m not sure what you want to do. Bumblebee isn’t used that much anymore. Usually optimus-manager is what most install. So it does boot sometimes to the desktop? It must be only running on intel right now as i don’t see anything loaded for the nvidia graphics.

First thing i would try is set lightdm to check graphic.

sudo nano /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf

Un-comment this line and change to true.

#set logind-check-graphical=false

So it looks like this