The noobest of the noob questions, desktop vs distro (take 2)

Dammit. Accidentally pressed the create topic button before I was done. Sorry everyone. Let’s try this again.

When I first installed EOS I could not get i3 to work. I won’t go into details about why (I honestly don’t know) or how I got it to work, but basically I eneded up with KDE+i3 for the first week or so. Eventually I figured it out and switched to i3 only.

But…using KDE made me wonder; what exactly comes along with a distro if so much of what made the experience what it was came from the desktop environment? Is it the stuff under the hood, like the daemons and such? If so, what makes it different from another arch based distros? What makes EOS, EOS?

I realize that this is a super basic knowledge question, but I’m pretty new to Linux and my searches for this question have turned up a bunch of unsatisfactory and/or confusing answers, often just leading to more questions.

Others are free to correct me, but I think you’re fairly accurate here. You can use your computer without a DE/WM, of course, but assuming you have one installed I think you can look at it as being the chassi of a car whereas the operating system is everything under the hood.

What differs between distros depends on what distros you compare, of course. Something like Endeavour is Arch-based, which is a rolling release distro and quite popular as a base. What this means is that updates are released in bits and far more frequent than something that is based on distros like Debian (Ubuntu, Linux Mint etc) which function similar to Windows in that versions are released as major updates once in a while.