Tascam US122L , how can I get it working?

Hello everyone, I’m new to Endeavour, but not new to Linux, but I am still a novice.

I have a Tascam US122L and there is a difference from what I can find searching between the 122L and 122 with no L.

Anyway, I installed Endeavour in offline mode and the default XFCE setup which is what I like. On a side note I have an Nvidia 1050 TI Gaming 4g I think it’s called and a Dell HDMI monitor.

So I type cat /proc/asound/cards in terminal and I get this

0 [PCH ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
HDA Intel PCH at 0xf7310000 irq 33
1 [NVidia ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
HDA NVidia at 0xf7080000 irq 17
2 [US122L ]: USB US-122L - TASCAM US-122L
TASCAM US-122L (644:800e if 0 at 003/008)

It is showing up with that command, but if I select the pulse audio mixer it’s not showing there.
I can run alsamixer in terminal and select it there with the F6 but that seems to have no effect whatsoever.

I have tried to edit my asound.conf file to look like this

pcm.!usb_stream {
@args [ CARD ]
@args.CARD {
type string
default “2”
}

type usb_stream

card $CARD
}

ctl.!usb_stream {
@args [ CARD ]
@args.CARD {
type string
default “2”
}

type hw

card $CARD
}

even tried 2 without the quotes 2 instead of “2”, didn’t seem to matter.

I realize it’s an Alsa driven USB device, so should I install apulse or something like that? I have tried installing that but I’m stumped as to how exactly to get this device working and any help would be appreciated.

All the information that I have found on the internet for the most part seems to be old and repositories are no longer existant in most cases and written for Ubuntu or other devices.

Anyway, thank you for your time. And THANK YOU to the creators of Endeavour OS! I switched from Windows 10 back to Linux and the main reason was this OS, and I’ve pretty much tried them all. I just want to get this USB device working and I will be set, NO MORE WINDOWS!

Thanks again…

Bobcat

1 Like