(SOLVED) Failed installation on a laptop

I am trying an installation on an Asus laptop, but that failed, how can I solve this ?

1 Like

The message is, quite clear : your boot partition is too small. Redo the partitioning. :slight_smile:

I have no experience in partitioning, and the installer created one of 300 mb. But I will give it a try.

1 Like

I know that the built in partitioner in calamares can bug sometimes.
try doing a manual partition scheme in gparted and then choose Manual Partition in the installer and point to the partitions you made.

1 Like

The installation went now suddenly successful, I don’t know why it now worked and not earlier

2 Likes

Well good :slight_smile: Nice when things fix themselves…

i guess you installed in legacy bios mode
so it worked

1 Like

550Mo minimum is an advice from the guy who created gdisk ! When you see the size of HDD or SDD today 1Mo is not the end of the world…

KPM core is still having issues with partitioning in some cases reason is may the way existing partitons are made before, also if it overwrite them…

1 Like

On our Wiki :

To avoid problems, you can make a partition scheme by using Gparted before you start Calamares. When you have set the partitions and flags, you can start up Calamares and choose the manual installation. We recommend this with all installation schemes, by the way.

3 Likes

I have this exact same problem, but I don’t know the right steps I have to take to solve this. I know how to manually partition, but I am encountering errors I have never encountered before. What I think might be the cause is that, I had a windows partition for games and a linux partition for everything else.