Post installation oddity

Just did a test install using the 08 iso (had it around and didn’t see the new one until later…). Installed in UEFI mode on an HP 8200 Elite (i5, 8 GiB RAM, 500 GiB disk). The machine already had a fresh Windows 10 install.

I used Gparted to add partitions (8 GiB swap, 30 GiB /, 200 GiB /home). I mounted the EFI partition as /boot/efi. Install was fine. When I rebooted, I got a Grub menu with EndevorOS and Windows. Started Endevor, worked fine. I then wanted to check that Windows would start, so I rebooted and selected the Windows option. That also worked.

The oddity comes on the next reboot - no Grub menu, just straight into Windows. I’ve found that by using F9 to get the HP boot menu, I can select EndevorOS, which then gives me the Grub menu. But I can’t get the Grub menu by default. I can’t see any option in the HP boot menu to change the boot order.

I’m a long term Arch user, but I’ve little or no experience with EFI booting. So, have I missed something in the install? The machine is quite old (don’t think it has a secure boot option at all), so maybe there is something odd in the EFI implementation. Any guidance would be very useful…

hello,what did you put flag on gparted

a little advice that I can give is when you make a new installation and if you have partitioning problems make screenshots, so we can help you, thank you

1 Like

Welcome @toothandnail I think if you go into your Uefi bios the boot order can be changed from there. It needs to be grub first not Windows. This is a common issue with UEFI. Try this first.

Also if you can boot into Endeavour you can also use efibootmgr and it will show you the list of the boot order. Then you can use efibootmgr to change the order so grub is first and windows is second and then the rest in the list.

List current boot entries
sudo efibootmgr

Example list (Windows is 0001 and Grub is 0009)
BootOrder: 0001,0009,000B,000C,0000

To change boot order