New to EndeavourOS - some observations

Hello all!
A big thank you to those responible for this distro - you should use it with pride.
I have been using Linux Mint Cinnamon for the last 3 years - and for the last few months have tried many distros to see if I would like something else more.
I decided that an Arch-based rolling release would be the most interesting to run on a second desktop PC.
I had previously tried:
Debian Bullseye Cinnamon
OpenSUSE Tumbleweed
ArcoLinuxB Plasma
Archman Plasma
Manjaro KDE Testing
I am now a happy EndeavourOS Plasma user!
But there have been some bumps in the road, as expected for an Arch noobie:
1 - Calamares doesn’t always manage the partitions correctly. This happens with several distros and I have a theory: I have several old HDD’s and I install on them rather than VM’s - I find it more realistic for me. As I reuse HDD’s and I usually enable encryption, when I go to install the next distro, Calamares doesn’t like it. Even if I delete all partitions with Gparted sometimes. Often, simply not specifying a swap partition is enough to get Calamares going. I then add a swap file later. Only OpenSUSE Tumbleweed recognized encrypted HDD’s and asked for a password prior to install.
2. CUPS/printing should really be preinstalled - I notice that the online installer now provides that option.
3. DVD playback requires libdvdcss to be installed, even if VLC is installed - nowhere is this mentioned
4. Samba is not installed by default, so I couldn’t get to my linked SMB drives. I followed the wiki instructions but they did not work, as an error regarding nbsp came up. I actually copied samba.conf from another Arch distro install and that worked fine!
And that was it, not a lot of problems but some head scratching needed.
Now I love it. Very close to pure Arch without the masochism.

4 Likes

Welcome @unbeliever !
I think you’ll find, as I have, a very knowledgeable yet super friendly community here at EndeavourOS.

1 Like