New install on LUKS/btrfs, grub failing to boot

Hi all,
I’m new to EndeavourOS, but not Linux in general. On this system, I’m replacing a Manjaro partition, but not nuking my /boot partition since I have Windows dual-booted here.

• I’m basically following this: https://endeavouros.com/docs/encrypted-installation-2/btrfsonluks-quick-copypaste-version/, except not starting completely blank.
  • I’ve got BIOS boot environment, with GPT partition table.
  • I added a small (10MB) unformatted partition as recommended
  • Encrypted BTRFS is my / on /dev/sdb6, with /home being the same on a second drive (/dev/sda1). Note that the installer is a bit weird in that I can’t immediately select encryption, but I can do it per-partition in two steps.

Stepping through the first part of the guide above, I can complete it OK. When I reboot though, I get the grub-rescue prompt, and it doesn’t see a filesystem in any of the partitions. (e.g. “ls (hd1,gpt6)” When I reboot into the EndeavourOS installer though, it’s all there. I can use udisksctl unlock on the root partition, mount it and do whatever. Running the grub-mkconfig and mkinitcpio tasks from section #5 in the guide above works.

Then I reboot… and back to the grub-rescue that can’t read a filesystem anywhere. (including the vfat and Windows ones)

Thoughts?

Cheers,
Tim

2 Likes

Trying something new here. It’ll take a while (online installer), but documenting here in case it works. :wink:

• While the installer identified the scheme as BIOS, setting my BIOS to “legacy only” instead of UEFI failed to find anything at all to boot from.
  • Fiddling some more with settings, reloaded the installer, which now says it’s an EFI setup. OK then, let’s give it a go.