Need Help Setting Mate-Terminal as Default Terminal

Hello EndeavourOS Community,

I’m new to this operating system and also to Arch. I’ve been a big fan of Budgie for many years, having previously used SolusOS and Ubuntu.

Recently, I came across a YouTube video about EndeavourOS and became immediately curious. The installation, setup, and the initial days of usage went smoothly.

However, there’s a small issue bothering me. I prefer the Mate-Terminal and would like to make it the default. I’ve managed to customize the terminal for the “CTRL-ALT-T” key combination, but when I right-click in a folder and choose “Open in Terminal,” the Gnome Terminal still opens.

I’ve tried using the dconf Editor to make adjustments. Under Ubuntu Budgie, I could make changes under “org” → “cinnamon” → “desktop” → “default-applications” → “terminal” and “org” → “gnome” → “desktop” → “applications” → “terminal.”

Unfortunately, I can’t modify these values as I receive the following error message in the terminal:

arduinoCopy code

"org" → "cinnamon" → "desktop" → "default-applications" → "terminal"
"org" → "gnome" → "desktop" → "applications" → "terminal"

Can someone kindly explain to me, in beginner-friendly terms, how to set Mate-Terminal as the default terminal? Your assistance is much appreciated!

Hello @Xastrax83 ,
Welcome to the community!
You may have installed yay -S dconf-editor
I maybe wrong but as dconf-editor missed dbus-launch

dbus-launch
dconf-editor

All is as you wrote (except for default-application: application …)
you switch default to custom enter mate-terminal and at the right top click to the clock:
Apply
during this there should not be errors nor warnings in the terminal where dconf-editor was started from. Tested works like a charm.
with seasonal greetings
‘Per aspera ad astra’

Good morning,

Thank you for your response, but it simply doesn’t work. Neither in Yay nor in Pacman is there a package named “dbus-launch” available.

The error message persists: