Migration from Ubuntu to endeavouros but

I have been using Ubuntu for a few years now and have been happy with until lately. The OS has been slowing down and I don’t like how the package management is handled with Snap, for example some apps don’t work when installed via snap.

I have been eager to move to a less is more OS and feel like giving endeavouros a try. I have downloaded the OS and will try it, but I have some questions in the meantime if you don’t mind:

1. Laptop Specs.
Works OK in Ubuntu, although I have some issues with the graphics driver with HDMI output every now and then, especially after updates. I just use the VGA output. I suspect the problems arise with the Intel/NVidia NVS 4200M combo GPU . Sometime when I list the GPU hardware I get Intel® HD Graphics 3000 other times The NVS 4200M.

Dell Latitude E6420, 8G RAM, 500G HD. Full spec below

2. Printer
I have a HP OfficeJet 6500A printer. I have been using the printer and scanner without issues on Ubuntu. I assume it work in endeavouros with correct package installed

3. Desktop
I have been using Gnome with Ubuntu. I suspect that some of the issues is related to Gnome. Takes a long time to boot up/shut down, some programs take a few minutes to start for the first time, etc, etc.

I know the desktop is user specific, but what desktop would you suggest? I do a lot of python programming (PyCharm) and electrical/electronic hardware development.

4. Suggested partition
What is the suggested partitioning. Currently I have a 30G partition for root, 450G for home and 12G swap

Sorry, the below table does not show properly in forum

Laptop Specifications:

H/W path           Device      Class          Description
=========================================================
                               system         Latitude E6420
/0                             bus            032T9K
/0/0                           memory         64KiB BIOS