Its better Install XFCE offline

Hi Comunity its my first time in Arch and its amazing system I like more in my Intel Atom N455 1,66 Ghz system 3 USB Sound MIC 10" screen looks great and fast start in 45 seconds restart in 15 seconds and close in 12 seconds.
Its better install in offline mode and later change the other DE you like to stabilize the system and download updates.
Thanks to all staff

1 Like

Hi @leonardom1967

You have the choice to setup directly the DE you want Online then Offline by default you will have XFCE and from it you could also install all DE you want…

Yes its true but here in Venezuela the net its so slowly the only method efficientt its install offline and later update the system if you choose online installation all system crashed the net speed its between 28 kb/s to 100 kb/s sorry to disagree

3 Likes

Yes this is why we propose the both, when your connexion is very slow, I would recommand Offline. We try to keep our ISO smaller as we could…

1 Like

But if you want another DE you may attempt to create your own offline .iso based on EndeavourOS (i’m also planning to do this in future, just in case, coz you never know what future holds…)

1 Like

Yes its treu I suggeste to add more DEs in the calamares installation tomorrow change to JWM WM because in this machime XFCE comsumes a lot or RAM and the Max RAM in this machime its 2 GB

For such low ram it’s best to try something like OpenBox, AwesomeWM or DWM - which are extremely lightweight, but require experience…

1 Like

Great ideea I use timeshift to create a snapshot off the system in case system crashes and after the systems upgrade create another snapshot the ISO its nice

2 Likes

With 2 Go of Ram, I would recommand i3 or whatever tiling Windows Manager where you would get more performance…

1 Like