Installed Apps Not Working

Hello all,

I am new to Endeavour but not to Linux. however I am mostly a point-and-click guy with little experience of the terminal (one of the reasons I switched to Endeavour).

I used the pacman command to install several programs (Signal, Telegram and Chromuim).

It all seemed to go fine and the installed programmes appear on my launcher - however they do not start when I click them. I also tried running them from the terminal - same problem.

Am I not doing something I should have done?

I’m running endeavour on a Thinkpad X240.

Thank you :slight_smile:

Hello @philco
What happens when you try to launch them from the terminal? Is there not any error messages you can show?

Edit: not sure how you installed them but here are the commands.

sudo pacman -S chromium

sudo pacman -S signal-desktop

sudo pacman -S telegram-desktop

Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

I used exactly those commands to install and they appear to have installed correctly. They are listed in the app list as you would expect. but when I click on them nothing happens.

When I try to run signal-desktop in the terminal I get: electron: error while loading shared libraries: libicui18n.so.67: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Any ideas what I’m doing wrong?

(I presume t is me messing up here :slight_smile:)

Try sudo pacman -Syu first if you haven’t already

Thank you @Tasia91 - I tried that and it seemed to install something or run a process.

Still won’t run the apps.

Thank you though :slight_smile:

/usr/lib/libicui18n.so.67
is included in package icu from core repository:
sudo pacman -S icu

pacman -Qo /usr/lib/libicui18n.so.67
/usr/lib/libicui18n.so.67 is owned by icu 67.1-

1 Like

You beat me to it. :+1:

1 Like

Hi @joekamprad -

I ran the above command in the terminal and lost the launch button. I re-booted the machine but when I entered the password it just hung on a black screen with a cursor in the top right corner.