Install multiple DE to try on free time

i would like to know if there is any way for me to install multiple DE , so that i can get my hands on it at my free time, and yet not conflicting with each other. if i gonna try out 5 DE, i can’t install 5 acc of each acc one Diff DE…

why the DE should conflict with each other,… it should not have to conflict with any DE.
my thinking is that, i should not have able to use other DE on xfce. on xfce i should only able to use xfce stuff… until i opt to change DE.
or maybe the programming part is that difficult to achieve ? lol i am not a programmer… i can talk .lol

Check out this wiki article:

5 Likes

Installing 5 DEs will 100% cause conflicts.

If you are doing this for fun and you don’t mind troubleshooting, researching and resolving issues then go for it.

If your expectation is that you are going to install a bunch of DEs and everything will “just work”, you are going to be disappointed.

Also, be aware that undoing the mess caused by installing multiple DEs is not always easy so don’t try it unless you are prepared for managing it.

6 Likes

@andrew_ysk, don’t do it. To be completely blunt, based on the recent 15 or so threads you started, you do not yet have the experience and knowledge necessary to pull that off. Maybe after a year of two of using EndeavourOS daily, you can attempt something like that as an interesting intellectual exercise.

For now, do a clean install with only one DE and stick to it. If you don’t know which one to use, try them out in a VM (if you don’t know how to install in a VM, that’s a million times easier to learn than this, trust me).

Seriously, don’t install more than one, you’re just setting yourself up for a ton of headache.

10 Likes