How to update to Nvidia 555 beta drivers

I am currently running Endeavour OS KDE with the 550.78 Nvidia drivers and a 4090. I would like to give the 555 beta driver a try and see how I like it and if it fixes the issues with Wayland. I see that it is available in the AUR, however, the install keeps failing. It says there is a conflict between nvidia-beta-utils and nvidia-utils. So I’m assuming I need to remove the exisitng 550.78 driver before installing the beta drivers. I’m fairly new to Endeavour so I’m not really sure how to do this.

1 Like

Only the one or the other, indeed.
The pack is always two packages:

• nvidia
  • nvidia-utils

or

• nvidia-beta
  • nvidia-utils-beta

it should ask to replace as far as i can see:

conflicts=('nvidia-utils' 'nvidia-libgl')

and in case there is also:
nvidia-settings-beta → https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/nvidia-settings-beta

You would have to uninstall nvidia drivers using pacman(yay) -Rdd command and then install beta drivers.

Installation fail because of dependencies, new package you are trying to install expects corresponding beta utils/kernel module. Which obviously is not yet there, on top of that those are dependencies for other packages.

As a side note the nvidia 555 drivers are available for Windows. I installed them to see how they work and will update on EndeavourOS when available.

1 Like

Thank you everyone. I will try that when I get home. Do I need to reboot after uninstalling drivers before installing the beta ones?

No. Simply reboot after installing the beta versions.

Thank you! I also had to run yay -Rdd nvidia-utils to get nvidia-beta to install, but then everything worked. However, now Steam won’t load. Doesn’t give me any kind of error message or anything. I click on Steam and nothing happens. I guess I’ll switch back to 550 drivers and wait for 555 to become official release instead of beta. I can use X11 until then.