How much have your computing habits/opinions changed since using Linux?

Title should be self-explanatory.
Reason I ask this, is because I came across an old chatlog from May this year, where I stated the folowing:

Let the big boys show off with their fancy Arch installs, which they customized themselfs… Too much trouble for me.
I’ll choose an easy to use, pre-configured distro, with all the essentials pre-installed above that any day!

Suffice to say, even if it’s only 4 months later, my ideas have radically changed to something more in the lines of:

• Desktop Environments are bloat, use WM instead
  • 1000+ installed packages are bloat!
  • Ram usage is over 1,5GB, where is the culprit??
  • Hey, like my new rice?
  • Who needs GUI, when there are perfectly useable CLI alternatives
  • I use Arch btw…

uhm… yeah :sweat_smile:

First two pointers, are a bit of dramatization, but to a certain degree they hold truth for me.

10 Likes

I have been using Linux for more than 25 years so I suspect my computing habits have changed substantially over that time period. :nerd_face:

5 Likes

If i had more time I would dive into the tiling window manager arena. I do like the idea and look. I would play with awesome wm but the set up is just soooo…involved. Maybe if I could talk @dglt into sending me his dotfiles. :crazy_face:

1 Like

Truthfully I haven’t gone full WM yet though,
my newest laptop runs a fully featured KDE desktop, because of practicality.
It’s the one I use for my media consumption, so it made more sense for me to have some settings more readily accessible.

My workstation, the Odroid n2+ and my Dell Latitude all run on I3, the workstation also has XFCE installed as backup.

Haven’t really looked at awesome

aha, you where one of the pioneers then back in the day?

1 Like

It’s nice and a good learning curve to use one or more WM, I’ve done it in the past with DWM, i3, Awesome and others, but I don’t feel like it anymore.