/home didn't get mounted during installation, thanks Calamares installer

Hi there, I was recently initiated into using EOS :slight_smile: I love the experience and theming of the distro. I’ve been using Arch for a couple of years, but it’s my first time using another Arch distro which uses the Calamares installer.

I installed it on my laptop first, as “whole disk” to check it out. So the /home + root are on the same partition afaik. However on a computer which I take seriously, I don’t like the idea of using this kind of partition scheme.

My previous install had these partitions, it’s an 1TB nvme:

1. 1G FAT32 - boot
  2. 125G EXT4 - root
  3. 805.5G EXT4 - home

I was so confused about having to click colored bars of the disk space in the installer, so I just prayed that it will work. So I picked an option which was supposed to use these 3 partitions and install the system on it, at least that’s what I thought I picked.

Later today when I took a look at my /home I noticed there is only 12GB free space :sweat_smile: so the massive partition for /home was not mounted during the install. I want to reinstall it today.

I would appreciate a few tips on how to make sure that these partitions will get mounted properly via Calamares installer

Thank you :slight_smile:

There is no need to reinstall in this situation. You should just be able to mount your existing /home

Apparently it has already mounted some kind of small home somewhere, so I don’t feel like the install went properly for me. And besides I might need to reinstall it again in the future :smiley: and it would be helpful to know how to properly mount my designated partitions by the installer

I’d really really appreciate tips on how to achieve it during the installation