Hello from a middle aged long time Linux user who found his home

Hello,
I just came here to say that for me, EndeavourOS has kind of made computing and computers really fun again.

I’m a long time Linux-user. I started using Linux in the late 1990’s with Slackware 2.0 being my first ever distro. I’ve since used ubuntu, Fedora, Arch Linux, OpenSUSE TW, PopOS! and pretty much anything in between.

I’ve grown kind of tired of experimenting - I now mostly want thing to be beautiful, technically advanced but still “just work” (with some effort.) For me, EndeavourOS really ticks all the boxes.

I use my EndeavourOS as my daily driver for both work and play. I work as a government employed lawyer/case officer and for that Endeavour with pidgin and sipe, evolution with ews sync and KDE Plasma is just brilliant. I also play some steam-games, most recently it’s been Tiny Tina’s Wonderlands, which I play under Proton. It works just amazingly well, I even co-op with 8yo son who plays on an Xbox S.

The only thing I really need for work is the full Office365-suite. LibreOffice just won’t do it in that regard. I’ve historically had to resort to dual booting. But now I’ve found a way to be able to not have to do that anymore, thanks to Endeavour and a nice project called “Winapps for Linux.” https://github.com/Fmstrat/winapps
I guess I just wanted to say hi and thanks for all your hard work!

15 Likes

First of all welcome home.

Actually for me it ticks even more, it ticks boxes that /i didn’t even know of.
I am sure you will enjoy as nothing else and no where else. (my personal opinion after being on Linux since 2000, and after distrohopping for about a year).

Best distro and best community.

If I may ask, why? What does LibreOffice miss (other than MS Access)?

3 Likes

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/free-office-online-for-the-web