Hello EOS from WV

Hello EOS community! I’m migrating to EOS after installing a second hard drive for storage resulted in an unbootable system. I’m fairly new to EOS, pacman, and the arch approach to Linux. I’ve been using it on-and-off since Ubuntu 12.04. I made the switch to Linux as my daily driver about 4 years ago, starting with Mint, then Elementary, then distro hopping for a bit before landing with Solus. I was happy with Solus, but when I couldn’t rescue my system, I decided it was time try something else for a bit. I’m still trying to get used to pacman syntax and commands, and getting my system set up the way I like, but I’m enjoying EOS w/Plasma so far.

inxi -FZ

5 Likes

Welcome to the community!

Please don’t hesitate to ask any questions.

hi @brucehankins :unicorn:
welcome to the purple universe :enos_flag: :enos: :rocketa_purple: :penguin_face:

Welcome @brucehankins

Welcome! Send moonshine, it’s delicious.

Then welcome!

Welcome to the forum and the purple side of Linux!
ComplicatedWildKitten-small

Welcome to the forums. Always excited to check out somebody from one of the least populous USA portions…

In one music-sharing site I used to attend many years back, I met a travelling DJ from West Virginia. I would have liked to read some of his autobiography LOL.

I was just like you using Solus for three months, until July of this year. I had to stop using it because it’s not like most distros “cleanly” installing a bootloader. It’s hard to explain, and even less comprehensible why one day it refused to boot because I made a failed attempt to put a Debian-clone into an external USB disk. I reinstalled Solus but three days later it refused to boot again with less intervention on my part.

Worse than this, I made two attempts to boot with the KDE Plasma ISO but it doesn’t work on my computer. It should have been my first with that D.E., instead it was slow-as-heck and buggy Ubuntu Studio.