EndeavourOS versus....?

Yeah, I’m still an EnOS newbie (Linux, too, for that matter) and I’m “not sure where this comment should be posted” so that’s two reasons why it’s here!

First, please understand that I really like EnOS (I’m using both XFCE and Deepin DEs) and no one needs to rush to its defense. I’m already sold on EnOS. This is certainly not meant as any kind of flame or even a mild criticism.

But in my “year with Linux,” I’ve certainly been guilty of a good bit of distro hopping and, even now, I still like to keep up with other spins as they arrive. Recently, I was watching a review of RebornOS on the Tyler’s Tech YouTube channel and found it very nice overall (reviews on DistroWatch report problems with the installer, however) but what really got my attention was the selection maintenance tools that are provided in RebornOS FIRE and how they’re all packaged together under Utilities and can do so many things there, including ticking through the full selection of DEs (if you want to get right to it, the RebornOS FIRE part starts at 16:59).

Maybe this is just the newbie in me but I find that – and the developer thought process that led to it – very cool. And for those of you who have been helping me recently through my adventures with serious Ubuntu updates re-writing the GRUB menu and “demoting” EnOS, you’ll know why the System Tasks of Rebuild GRUB and Reinstall GRUB had an immediate appeal!

1 Like

Okay…?
:man_shrugging:

3 Likes

It might be nice to find out what these are without having to trawl through a YouTube video. :wink:

These are kind of at odds with the Arch methodology. For example, I didn’t initially know why an alpm hook wasn’t present to regenerate the GRUB config when you install or remove a kernel, and one reason is that people might write their own config and the Arch devs don’t want to force the user to do a particular thing.

5 Likes

Just like me… :rofl:

4 Likes