EndeavourOS on a slow machine, how to fix it?

hello dear friends.

i am fairly new to endeavour: and i like it. But i guess that i have installed it on the wrong machine - or in a wrong manner - that is - with KDE and not with a damned small desktop.Version

full story: i run it on a old notebook

it is a Asus A 54L; CPU i3; 4GB RAM - note the i3 is probably a older generation. The notebook itself is about 8 to ten years old

I have installed EndeavourOS - and i have to tell you: i love it from the bottom of my heart.The first installation - was to play around and to test it - so i installed it on a quite very old Notebook.

i took the KDE-Enviroment -

after 4 Week testing and playing i have to tell you.

it collapses quite alot - i get freeze and other things - eg. in the browser (vivaldi) or the libreoffice that ia
running in parallel to GIMP and a Vivaild - juzst quits working

I get responses like so;:
ther is no -"answering " of this software - . -Do you want to close it?

Well what could i do now - are there other desktop environents !?

regards

https://discovery.endeavouros.com/forum-log-tool-options/how-to-include-systemlogs-in-your-post/2021/03/

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Desktop

1 Like

Disable file indexing from System Settings if you haven’t already done so.

2 Likes

Yes there are many. You can select another DE if you use the online installer. There also windows manager like i3wm that use the least RAM out of the box, but its not going to change much RAM usage of Firefox and other apps. Definitely less bloat than kde though :wink:

Edit: (and gnome)

1 Like

hello you both

many thanks for the quick reply. I am happy. MrVictory - what do you mean by disabling the indexing form Syst-.Settings!?

@pebcak - well sure thing youre right - i will try to provide you with extra infos - but imagine: if the whole system freezes i cannot even open the log files

all that things are not able

BTW: does it matter - how many tabs in Vivaldi are open?!