EndeavourOS for productivity/business use scenarios

Hello, I have been using linux at work for slightly over a decade now, have distro hopped off and on, I use some testing distros for security assessments in the work environment. I work in IT in healthcare, and focus in administrative, networking and cybersecurity. I recently have been using Arch this year and installed it on 3 computers and backing up on a daily basis to a Debian Server just in case anything goes wrong I imagine it would be very unlikely all three would go bad at the same time however been thinking of using at least one different distro to change things up. I thought I’d give EndearousOS a try. I’ve only been using it for a couple days and was wondering anyone here uses it for in your work environment and how has your experience been?

2 Likes

I have a similar use to you… me too from IT, and using linux about 10 years, arch from 1 year ago, and will migrate my work notebook to EOS on next week…
I’ve tested EOS in a virtual machine for 1 week, do all my daily activities on it, and 0 problems, too similar to arch vanilla…
I think you will have no problems too.

Sugestion: install it on a virtual machine, and test all your work, activities on it, and if you see that it serves you well, just go!
EOS appear to be a great distro, with a great community

2 Likes

it’s fine, same as windows (except windows sucks). for you own business/commerce/moneymaking you basically need:
**sturdy fortified browser–(linux-agnostic)
**face-to-face software (I use zoom from the AUR and occasionally have use G Meets (browser) but I will confess I can’t get Webex sound and picture synced together on any distro…and in a perfect world we’d all use Jitsi…
**tough firewall enabled on default (kudos Endeavour)
**office suite apps (platform agnostic)
**cloud apps (platform agnostic)
**perhaps Mastodon and other channel software (better on linux)