Dropping by to say hello!

Short story time! I wiped my Windows 10 and installed EndeavourOS on my Thinkpad t480s a few days ago. Since then I’ve been configuring my install to the best of my abilities, and I think I finally have a nice, well-performing and not-so-power-hungry system!

I’ve been using Windows for a very long time and only have had a brief encounter with 2 Linux distros: Ubuntu, maybe 7-8 years ago, and CentOS, don’t remember when. I gave up using Ubuntu after 3 days because I simply wasn’t ready yet - CentOS was installed on someone’s work device at home and I sometimes used it, but that’s about it. I’m actually not so sure if it was CentOS anymore - could have been some other enterprise Linux. Basically, I’m a complete Linux newbie.

Windows 10 was (is) a very nice OS, it has always served me reliably across multiple computers. But soon after trying Windows 11 (which I tried very hard to like, but alas), I thought it was time for me to use something new. Cue months of research that led to me discovering EndeavourOS, numerous installs on my aged Thinkpad x220, more research for reassurance, and here I am!

Funny how during my several weeks-months of distro-hopping journey, deep down I already knew I would choose EndeavourOS in the end! Of course there were some other strong candidates, but I decided that after going through 8+ Artemis Nova test installs with several days of use each (a lot, yes, but I needed the reassurance!)… this is it, this is home - hopefully.