Download speed

Hello , I’m new to arch. Endeavouros is very fantastic .I can use with no difficultly but only one.That is when I download a package or update my system , near the ending of progress the download rate is 20kbs or around. Arch or eos mirror problem? I’m from Myanmar,Asia.There’s no good mirror for Myanmar or something like that? Please help me with this

Hello,
did you try the automated mirror-ranking from the welcome screen?

1 Like

Here’s an introduction to mirror ranking:
https://discovery.endeavouros.com/pacman/mirrors-intro/2021/03/

As the vast majority of the packages come from the Arch mirrors, the speed problems are typically related to those mirrors. So ranking the Arch mirrors is usually the solution.
For that you have these apps directly available:

• rate-mirrors
  • reflector
  • reflector-simple (=GUI wrapper for reflector)

I assume rate-mirrors is a great choice for your location. But of course, experimenting with any and/or all of them may provide the best result.

If the native EndeavourOS mirrors seem slow, they can be ranked with

• eos-rankmirrors
  • rate-mirrors

Note that you can also manually test some mirrors by downloading the same package from a few mirrors.
Then

• measure the elapsed time (faster = better)
  • check the package version (newer = better)

This may help because ranking apps sometimes do not provide optimal results.
Also, sometimes mirrors can be temporarily offline which can change the ranking outcome.

Note that many (but not all) mirrors from Germany and United States are good for worldwide use.

2 Likes

I didn’t, I’ll try .Thanks lots.

Hi, the responsible for the EOS mirrors here, did that fix your problem?

ah not yet,coz I’m not with my laptop right now.I like this community so much now.Very resopnsive.

The easiest way to get a good mirrorlist is to use rate-mirrors.

Run in the terminal:

rate-mirrors arch | sudo tee /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

and then update with -Syyu:

sudo pacman -Syyu