Does Endeavour OS offer anything special than an easy Arch installer?

I’m a newbie who’s looking to get out of the Manjaro ecosystem. I feels it’s so bloated and has a lot of unnecessary things preinstalled, that’s what made me trying to move to Arch linux or Endeavour OS, I have a simple question: What makes Endeavour OS special ?

1 Like

Welcome to the forum! :partying_face: :enos_flag:

EnOS is pretty minimal. There is pretty much zero bloat.

The best thing I like is the lovely community we have. Helpful and friendly people. You won’t see people saying RTFM here.

I’m sure you’ll have a great stay here! :hugs:

11 Likes
  • The community - We have an open and welcoming community that we hope is a great place to hangout no matter your experience level
  • The installer - It keeps growing and getting more flexible
  • Utilities - There is a growing library of tools which are built in order to make it easier to setup and manage your system

That being said, technically speaking, it is very close to upstream Arch which is one of the the goals.

15 Likes

I also used manjaro in the past. What I like about EOS: it is clan and lean terminal centric distro, the community is awesome and the help you get here is unmatched in any forum I participated (you feel welcome and replies within few hours), they also have a light but awesome theming for different desktops, and as you said minimal install and no bloat meaning it is much easier for me to check what is going on if something goes wrong. It is close to Arch.

edit: welcome to the community! :grin:

4 Likes

How many packages would a new KDE install take ?

It depends what you select in the installer.

It is an online installer with options selected by you. It isn’t a fixed install.

If you want to, you can even install without a DE and then install it manually to your specifications.