Desktop environment different after reboot

Hello,

I’m new to Linux as of today and I guess my question is pretty stupid. But unfortunately I can’t find a solution.

I have installed and set up the Plasma environment. After a reboot and logging in, I was shown a new very spartan graphical environment. Unfortunately, I don’t know why this keeps happening and how I can get back to the old one. Probably this is normal and I just made a mistake. But to be honest, I don’t quite understand it. Can you help me?

Thank you very much!

I am not sure what you mean exactly. Can you provide some examples of what changed?

Also, a screenshot of your spartan environment might help.

At the login screen, is there anywhere you can you select Plasma?

Did you install plasma from the online installer or how did you install it?

Thanks for your reply!
Screenshot|690x387

It looks like a tablet version to me. I used the online installer and did not install a second operating system and deleted all partitions beforehand. I also only installed the plasma environment.

I hope this information will help you.

That is gnome, not plasma/kde.

It looks like you installed multiple DEs. Logout, before putting in your password again look around the screen there should be a place to switch to plasma on the screen depending on which display manager you are using.

Also, if you are an absolute beginner, I would really recommend against having more than one desktop environment installed. It can cause minor conflicts and if you don’t know what to look for it may cause frustrations you could avoid.

1 Like

Oh wow… you are right. Don´t know how that happend. That´s stupid :D. I’m sorry to have bothered you with this. I must have put the wrong tick in the box.
Is it possible to uninstall Gnom cleanly or should I rather rebuild the system?

1 Like

It is easier to re-install if this is a new system.