Come back in 8 hours

After posting 10 posts on my first day, I was greeted with a message which told me I needed to come back in 8 hours. Thankfully, my problem was resolved, but honestly, had it not been, I would not have come back and would have moved to a different distro.

As someone who is a content moderator, I fully appreciate the fact that you want to keep spam out and troublemakers out. I do indeed sympathize—Especially since this is what I partly do for a living on a few social media sites. But an 8-hour soft ban (as it will seem to the user) is not precisely welcoming when they have done nothing wrong other than being active within your community. Which ideally is what you want to encourage, activity.

Furthermore, and speaking personally, as someone who loves Arch Linux, but usually finds themselves disliking the communities that surround Arch and their offshoots, I was impressed by how friendly, and helpful Endeavor OS’s community was. It was very refreshing after trying both Arch, Manjaro, Arco Linux, and a few other Arch Linux based (offshoot) distros, whose communities were less than friendly or helpful. It seems to be a theme surrounding Arch, and much to my surprise, Endeavor OS is the complete opposite (which is very lovely). That said, the 8-hour window felt like a slap in the face and a complete contradiction.

I would encourage you to find an alternative solution to the current system in place.

6 Likes

Discourse is a pain, stupid badges, stupid limits on new users, I assume they can be turned off (please!!).

This is probably a matter of the forum inventor Discourse, so you should place a pull request there to allow a moderator to block or allow more posts.

I am familiar with the content manager portal, Discourse, and its integrated forums and mailing manager. The current feature can be manipulated, and I would ask the management to please consider doing so.

1 Like

The smaller a forum is, the easier it is to run it. like Garuda :wink: