Calamares encrypted install: systemd requires LUKS password twice on boot

Hey EOS Forum,

relative newbie here. For my home setup I used to install EOS with separate partitions (unencrypted root, encrypted /home).
Now for my work I wanted to use Calamares to install a fully encrypted system following:
https://discovery.endeavouros.com/encrypted-installation/encrypted-installation/2021/03/

I followed the guide exactly with the exception of selecting Swap (Hibernate) from the drop-down menu.

Now to my problem:
Every time when booting I am now prompted twice to enter my encryption password. The first prompt is for ‘endeavouros’ the second prompt for ‘’.
Is this the desired behaviour and if yes how do I get it to only ask for the password once (like in the above guide)?

This is the output of lsblk that I get.

NAME                                          MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE  MOUNTPOINTS
nvme0n1                                       259:0    0 476,9G  0 disk
├─nvme0n1p1                                   259:1    0  1000M  0 part  /efi
├─nvme0n1p2                                   259:2    0 459,4G  0 part
│ └─luks-f3327b12-f55c-404f-9ba3-a3b1af9ce588 254:1    0 459,4G  0 crypt /
└─nvme0n1p3                                   259:3    0  16,6G  0 part
  └─luks-9eee5a55-64c0-4a62-8270-dc52d789e85c 254:0    0  16,6G  0 crypt [SWAP]

I read the instruction at https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/dm-crypt/Device_encryption#With_a_keyfile_embedded_in_the_initramfs

here they talk about setting up a keyfile but instructions seem to be specific to GRUB while I’m on systemd-boot.

Thanks in advance for the help.

You shouldn’t embed a keyfile in the initrd when using systemd-boot so you will get asked for your password once for each partition.

There are 3 ways to avoid this:

• Use grub
  • Use a swapfile instead of a swap partition
  • Use lvm on luks
1 Like

Awesome, thanks a lot @dalto