Best DE for my needs?

Hello,

I decided to give EndeavourOS a try. I have heard nothing but fantastic things from friends who run the distro and I am ready to jump in. I was wondering what DE you guys would suggest for my needs? I’m not ultra picky (though I’m not a huge fan of KDE). I mainly use my PC for everyday things like the internet, email, etc. I am a writer, so I use it for work and creative writing and I also do some light gaming through Steam. These are my PC specs:

Ryzen 7 1800X CPU
AMD RX 480 GPU
16GB Memory
250GB SSD (Use for Root/Boot/Swap)
1TB HDD (Use for /Home)
Three Full HD 23" Monitors

Thanks for any recommendation and I’m super excited to be part of the community.

6 Likes

Welcome! :partying_face:

Dammit! :laughing:

Well…According to your needs - perhaps Cinnamon would be a good and easy choice, it’s pretty consistent :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Welcome to the community :beers:

If you want something solid and easy to understand out of the box, I would suggest XFCE. It’s what I settled on initially when making the move from win10 to linux. If you want to get a little “out there” and try a tiling WM I would suggest bspwm (and I would be happy to help with any set-up, questions, etc).

2 Likes

I have been interested in TWM, though I’m not super techie and I don’t really understand how to set everything up from scratch with config files and stuff. I also use a lot of programs and stuff that are not in the terminal…so I’m not sure how useful a TWM would be for me. I do like XFCE, I just wasn’t sure how well it is implemented on EndeavourOS. Sometimes it looks/runs like dookie.

Cinnamon is pretty nice, though it’s REALLY bland. It can be a solid choice though. I might try it out.

Surely after hours of KDE customization it’s bland :laughing:
I assumed you don’t want to spend hours configuring and want best out of the box experience :upside_down_face:

Maybe Gnome is your thing?
To me it’s very :alien:

1 Like