A Complete Idiot's Guide To Endeavour OS Maintenance / Update / Upgrade

I’m a complete idiot - so here’s my guide for you!

It has been asked a lot, and fairly frequently recently it seems, especially by new Endeavour/new to Linux users. It was recently asked that I post how I update - so here it is.

“How do I maintain / update / upgrade my system?!? Help!!”

This is my maintenance plan. I have been using the same install for almost 2 years now without any major issue. I’m VERY aware there’s more than one way to do this. And most importantly -

Many of these can be done through the welcome center app - They do very much the same thing, you just need to click on it. But since this is a terminal centric distro with a target audience of intermediate users - we’re doing this in terminal. Completely new users who have found themselves here for whatever reason (and possibly overwhelmed) will find this even more beneficial.

1. The Golden Rule
    Rule # 1 to keeping a system up and running and NOT having problems -
    DON’T BREAK YOUR OWN COMPUTER. Most problems are user generated.

1. (a) Keep updated
  • maintenance schedule - as frequently as you would like. From several times a day to at least once every other week (in my opinion)
yay

That’s it.

1. (b) Sorting pacnew/pacsave files - when prompted by terminal
  • maintenance schedule - whenever you are notified by yay that you have a pacnew or pacsave file that needs tending to. This schedule varies upon frequency of receiving them
  • you will ALWAYS be notified during the update process if they are created.
  • The longer you wait to tend to them, the more difficult life can become for you.
  • There is a great tool in the EOS-welcome app for this that combines pacdiff and meld
  • I also use the program meld from terminal for this
  • note for Arch users who may be reading this - you will need meld from the repos if you don’t already have it to complete this step
DIFFPROG=meld pacdiff