100% CPU usage with Nvida drivers

Hi, i am a linux newbie and have EndeavourOS installed on a late 2013 Macbook Pro which has a 750M NVidia card (as well as onboard graphics). When i first installed i didn’t opt for the NVidia drivers and everything worked fine apart from dragging UI windows around and scrolling wasn’t very smooth.

I thought the slowness was probably down to the generic video driver (Nouveau?) so decided to re-install with the NVidia option and everything was perfect (or so i thought). After a few minutes i noticed that the fan on the laptop was constantly running and a little investigation revealed that one of the CPUs was permanently at close to 100%.

The offending process was:-

[root]kworker/0:2+kacpi_notify

I then did a little digging online and found this article about a similar issue in Ubuntu

The output from grep . -r /sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/ revealed that the count for /sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe16 was non-zero and increasing rapidly (this was just after a few seconds), i’m not sure what this number represents but i’m guessing it is bad ?:-

sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe16: 1326 STS enabled unmasked

I then disabled gpe16 as suggested in the article using the command below (as root):-

echo disable >sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe16

This solved the problem for me (the count ceased to increase and cpu usage returned to normal):-

/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe16: 1668 STS disabled unmasked

I haven’t noticed any side affects, everything seems to be working perfectly and i really like EndeavourOS, hopefully this might help others who encounter a similar issue.

A couple of questions:-

1. How do issues like this get fed back for fixing in a future release ?